Hello my name is Lisa and I am a 21 years old from Saint Louis. I am currently a freshman in college working toward a degree in Human Services. I have had alopecia totalis for 3 years now. These last 3 years have been really tough for me. When i was first diagnosed with alopecia totalis i broke down and cried when the doctor told me that my hair may never grow back. People started to pity me and my friends talked about me and eventually turned their backs on me because of my condition. I didnt know how to handle this so i started to distance myself from people and started using drugs. I also started failing in school and eventually dropped out because I couldnt handle the stares and whispers.1 year later after accepting the fact the condition was something I couldnt change, I left the drugs alone and started getting my life together. There are times when I have some regrowth but that only lasts for a while and then it falls back out again. I hoping that one day my hair will grow back but for now I will stick to my wigs. I started wearing wigs shortly after being diagnosed and they have helped me a little bit. Sometimes i feel so awkward wearing wigs because they look so fake. Most of that time i wear a head scarf or turban. Also is there anyone here from the Saint Louis area. I just moved here and , Im trying to meet new friends.

Views: 18

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Welcome LIsa. I had a similar experience in school. I graduated in 1982 and there was even less known about alopecia then. People didn't know how to deal with it or address it and some just assumed I had a contagious disease...which was so hard for me. Having to deal with adolescence and hair loss was a rough ride. I never had a full regrowth so I haven't had the rollercoaster ride that many people experience. I've been wearing wigs since I was 8 years old. When I look back at pictures of me when my mother picked out my wigs..I just cringe!