How does the heat down here in the Southern states affect what you wear everyday? Jeans, Shorts, Hats, Oh and Include wigs, bandannas, or just going plain ole' "topless".......
Do tell :-)

Views: 42

Replies to This Discussion

Being a geologist, I work outdoors a great deal. I sunscreen my entire head, even though I wear a hat. Sweat is the big deal for me. Without hair on my head to absorb it, it runs into my eyes. A bandana usually takes care of that. Light, long sleeve shirts help keep sun and bugs off. Long pants are a must so I wear Royal Robins 911's. They are cotton and have lots of pockets for phone, GPS, field book, etc...

On the coast almost anything with a fragrance will keep sand gnats away except for DEET! DEET is a condiment to sand gnats. Naturapel citronella spray works very well. I avoid DEET unless the mosquitoes are just unbearable. I think the bug bites may be safer.

When I am not working, it's shorts Hawaiian shirts or loose Tees, shorts and comfy shoes.
Yea, the heat and humidity are awful here in Alabama. I still wear a wig when I go out (unfortunately). That means as soon as I get home I snatch it off and put it away. When I work out I either wear a bandana or a buff. The buff is so much nicer because it is cooler and does a better job of absorbing the sweat than a bandana does.
Topless all the way! The heat in Atlanta is unbearable. I don't know how women wear the wigs and weaves here. I just can't do it. I had great long hair that was usually in a ponytail most of the summer--I sweat in (now on) my head. For all ya'll beating the southern heat--STAY COOL!
~Galena