Hey everybody, I need some advice! I'm going to be a freshman in college in the fall and I'm about to ditch wearing wigs (which I've been wearing for ~8 years), in the summer. I've thought long and hard about going bare-headed again, as I am tired of stealthing all time for friends and peers, I can't do as much physical activity as I'd like to, and I feel that I don't look like my gender identity with my wigs.

I was just wondering what I should do to help transition into my new home. What should I expect from people on and off campus and how should I handle it? I've had alopecia since I was 4 and I'm afraid I'm going to revert back to being shy and self-conscious like I was before I started wearing wigs. I really just want to be honest to others out there who don't/might know me and I especially want to be honest to myself, and to feel confident. I can't wait for college to start (and my senior exams to be over), but I'm just a little apprehensive about the whole ordeal! 

Views: 831

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I went through the same thing when I started college - it's a great opportunity to start over and find your identity. Ditching the wig/hat is a big step and it can be pretty scary, but it's the most freeing and relieving thing you can do in your situation. That fear of someone "discovering" your condition can be outright crippling and can make you miss out on so many wonderful opportunities in life.