I just returned from a two week backpacking/hiking/camping trip in Wyoming through the National Outdoor Leadership School. I went without my wig the whole time in front of 14 strangers (now friends) and even went out in Lander, WY without my wig and flew home without my wig today.

I'm curious to learn how other women have decided to make the move from wearing a wig most of the time to a wig-free life and what obstacles, if any, you encountered in the process. I am a lawyer for an international corporation so I may not be able to go without my wig in a professional environment but I'd love your thoughts on this as well...

Views: 431

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Good for you, Maidie. This is so awesome!! I'm so happy for you. :o)
maidie you are just very feminine and brave *
Good for you Maidie. I have been going wig free & bandana free for almost 2 months. I was fed up with hiding under them. It took me 4 years to get to this point, but I now walk publicly with my bald head held high! How did I do it? I let go of my EGO! I want to start a movement for people to change the way they see and not the way they look.
And to any company or person who feels a woman has to have a full head of hair to go out into public, please feel free to walk a day in our shoes.
Go Maidie!! You are awesome for doing this. I always used to go without my wig only when I was going to places out of town where I knew I wouldn't see anyone, and that, and a combination of going to conference & loving going bald there that made me to be a fulltime baldie. =) I just got fed up with hair, its not for me. I'm starting college, and I go wigless, I wear cute scarves & stuff to girly myself up, but its still quite obvious I'm bald. For me, it is better this way. There's no difficulty with having to "come out" about wearing a wig, when they see me, they see I don't have hair, & if they like me, its knowing I don't have hair, end of story!