I am new to this whole thing. I just had my first doctor visit on May 2nd. At that time he did the steroid injections in the 4 spots I had at the time. Now here I am 3 weeks later with 10 bald spots and a very lumpy and sore head! Those shots are NOT pleasant and the divots that forms at the injection sites are more obvious than I expected. I have read in many places that if you hair will grow back, it will grow back on its own without the treatment...is this true? Part of me just feels like I should let whatever's meant to happen just happen. My next appointment is on the 23rd. Any advice? Should I do another round of steroid injections?

Views: 40

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks, Linsey. It's good to hear some positive feedback regarding the steroid shots. Here's a new questions though...what if I don't see any regrowth? Should I still continue with the steroid injection treatment? I think it might still be too early for me to tell...I know the doc said he'd be able to tell how it's working at my next appt (the 23rd)...but as of now, I'm not seeing any action.
Thanks so much for your feedback!
Mandy,

I think it is totally up to you. I got the injections for 2 years and they were fine after a while. I started with prednisone so as long as I tooks the meds I was fine, when I went down the hair came out. I have had AU for over 10 years and it is an adjustment period. The side effects of nothing could ne total hair loss. Are you ready to deal with that? The injections do take time but it could grow again. The injections gave me mild side effects but in the end did work. Do what you are most comfortable with.
Thanks, Trina. Sounds like I should keep trying the injections and hope for regrowth. I'm lucky that at this time, I can still pull my hair back into a pony and cover the spots. But I think that if that changes, it will be a different story.
Actually, yes, that is helpful. Thanks. ;) I will just have to go with the flow and go with my gut.