Hi everyone,

I have just joined this site. I am hoping to find some friends who truly understand what it is like to live with no hair. I have been wearing a wig for 13 years now, quite an old timer really. I'm 40 years old, married with two daughters. I'd love to hear from anyone who understands the daily ups and downs of living like this.

Starr xx

Views: 9

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Starr
I have recently joined this site. Im in UK 51yrs old, divorced with AU for 6/7yrs. I wear a wig during the winter, and for special occasions !! Most of the time I wear nothing on my head, which feels so natural. I have eyebrows tattooed on, and the only thing I really miss is eyelashes, then my eyes would not look so "piggy".
Most of the time It doesnt worry me having AU, but some days when im feeling "touchy" it does get me down.
We all have days when we feel vulnable what ever we have wrong with us.
Im sure we will both find a lot of support on here, and I have added you as a "friend" hope that is ok.
Hi Gill

Thanks for adding me as a friend.

'piggy eyes' you got it in a nutshell, thats one of my most hated features, and I rarely go out without eyeliner.

I'd love to wear nothing, on my head, and have done so on holiday. I suppose I worry that my kids and hubby will not like me walking around au natural - of course they'd never say that but my daughters are 11 and 14, a difficult age for them to deal with unwelcome stares and an embarassing mum. It seems easier for everybody if I wear my wig.

I too had my eyebrows tatooed on. I wish I hadn't because my own have partially grown back. The lady who did them said they were semi-permanent and would last 3-5 years. Eight years on they are still going strong, damn it !

I'd love to have eyeliner tatooed on but I'm not brave enough, I hear that it hurts.

Anyway, today is a good day for me. Hope its the same for you.

Thanks again for replying.

Starr xx